Manually removing QA mode within Adobe Target

Have you ever been testing and A/B, MVT or experience test using Adobe Target’s testing URL (?at_preview_token=abc123…) and wanted to disable it so that you can continue to see the site vs. the test? This blog entry will show you how to do that in a few steps.

Before I get into that, I want to explain the QA mode. Similar to the DTM switcher for Chrome or FireFox, the QA mode allows you to see what hasnt been published (in Target its turned on to live mode) so that you can test and make sure everything is working as expected. However, in Target, their QA functionality with the testing URL makes things quite sticky.

What I mean by sticky is once you are in the “test” it keeps you in the test up until the Target session expires or you manually remove yourself from the QA mode. To manually remove yourself from the QA mode, take the initial testing URL and remove everything after the at_preview_token query string parameter and leave that parameter with an empty value (i.e. ?at_preview_token=).

Once you do that, you will be able to view your site like any normal visitor and wont be in the test anymore. You would just need to add back the testing QA parameters to put yourself back into the test. That’s it! Pretty simple but important when debugging Adobe Target.